Main Menu

ANCA Singing Replugged : Community Choir Webinar

ANCA Singing Replugged : Community Choir Webinar

3:30pm 18th October 2020 - 5:30pm 18th October 2020

Event Details

Venue Name: Zoom Webinar
Event Type: Workshop

Booking Details

Working with Community Choirs and Singers in an Online Space. 

An international pandemic has created many challenges for delivering effective voice education. We can agree that online instruction in singing is not ideal. However, if we start with the premise that people need to sing, then the benefits of singing to individuals far outweigh the inconvenience of working online. 

In this ANCA workshop, Darren Wicks will create a dialogue with you on how we keep people singing. Darren will demonstrate the equipment, materials, and strategies he's using to keep a 100-voice community choir and private singing clients engaged and singing during the challenges of the international pandemic. There will be an opportunity for you to share what's working for you and to ask questions. 

This workshop is co-hosted by ANCA VIC-TAS, NSW-ACT and QLD-NT and is open to all ANCA members and friends Australia wide. 

This event will be followed by the NSW-ACT Annual Chapter Meeting from 5:00-5:30pm AEDT. 

When 
Sunday, 18 October 2020
Melbourne / Sydney 3:30pm AEDT  
Adelaide 3:00pm ACDT
Darwin 
2:00pm ACST 
Brisbane 2:30pm AEST  
Perth 12:30pm AWST

Where
Zoom Webinar
A link will be sent prior to the event. 

Tickets
ANCA  Choral and Institutional members $20
ANCA Individual members $15
General Admission $25
General Admission - Student $19


Darren is a singer, jazz pianist, choir director, and singing coach from Melbourne Australia. With a career spanning 25 years, Darren's experience includes work as a high school music teacher; a university lecturer, work with community music groups; studio teaching; school and community choirs; amateur musical theatre; and teacher education.

Darren currently directs the Melbourne Singers of Gospel, a 120-voice community choir and is the founder of Total Voice Studio in Melbourne. He has studied voice pedagogy extensively throughout the USA. Darren holds a PhD in Voice Teaching and a Master of Music Education Degree. He is active in music education and voice associations. He is an honorary life member of the Kodály Music Education Institute of Australia and certified as an advanced teacher with the Institute of Vocal Advancement 

 

 


What else is on?

Find an Event
Upcoming Events